From iPhone to noPhone

Thursday, I had the opportunity to be on a panel during a SXSW event called mobile.faith. It was sponsored by Patheos.com and Cadabra Media. The event featured innovators in the field of technology and faith that addressed “one of the great challenges of our age: to live connected to one another through technology and to do so in ways that are beneficial to our soulwork, connected in our communities, and useful to the world.”

I was invited along with four other St. Edward’s students to be a part of a panel to discuss how technology plays a role in our faith communities and spiritual lives (Check out a recording of it here. We go on about 37 minutes into the video). It was an awesome and blessed experience! Technology and media can and are truly enhancing the religious lives and faith experiences of many people. It provides a space for mass communication, conversation, and connection. I am a strong believer in the good that can come from it, but I also recognized the ‘bad’ it can create.

All that being said, today I will turn off my iphone and leave it on my desk for one whole week. I will be participating in a program called Alternative Spring Break in which I will spend a week with seven other people from St. Ed’s serving those in poverty in Denver, Colorado. We will be building community, doing justice, living simply, and engaging spiritually. That means no phones, laptops, social media, homework, watches, daily showers, etc.

I signed up for this program because I felt I needed to get uncomfortable. I felt I needed something new. I wanted to let go of distractions and be 100% present in what I was doing for once. I depend on my iphone and other technologies for so many things, but it’s time to refocus and depend on someone who can do much more than tell me when my next meeting is or where to closest coffee shop is. Being connected to the world and having a world of knowledge in the palm of my hand is great, but what does it all matter if I am not connected to myself, the one who created me, and the people I am in community with.

The group I will spend the next week with!

About emilyclaire3

Hello, my name is Emily Claire and I like a lot of things including but not limited to God, photography, organization, crafts, laughing, youth ministry, and baseball..

2 responses to “From iPhone to noPhone

  1. timothybraun

    I love this blog. It makes me happy.

  2. Dolores Galvan

    Spiritual can be enhanced by always making sure that you have compassion to everyone. `

    <a href="Hottest article content on our personal homepage
    http://www.prettygoddess.com/index.php?board=2.0/

What do YOU think?

