Teach me how to blog

I remember the first time I discovered blogs. My sister had a xanga and a livejournal in high school. As a middle schooler, I didn’t really get it. Yes, it was a cool idea being able to publish your thoughts online, but who cared about what my sister thought? What on earth would she be telling total strangers? As blogging caught on over the next few years, I began to realize what an asset it was for everyday people to have a way to be heard. Over the past few years, I have come to love blogging. Unfortunately, I do not have enough time to devout to it, and I have never had a good focus that would attract any readers.

I would love to blog more, but what is the point if no one is going to read it? How do I write an effective blog? Can it cover random topics, or should it be focused?

If my sister’s best friend can be featured on CBS News’ “25 genious Tumblrs you should follow” with her blog Emotions with Jon Hamm, (started when she was stress out with school and Jon Hamm’s facial expressions made her laugh), why can’t I at least get a few followers other than my mom, dad, and grandmother?

http://emotionswithjonhamm.tumblr.com/

About emilyclaire3

Hello, my name is Emily Claire and I like a lot of things including but not limited to God, photography, organization, crafts, laughing, youth ministry, and baseball..

What do YOU think?

