Listening with SocialMention.com

I thought I was familiar with  social media and knew what services and websites were available. I have accounts on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, YouTube, Tumblr, WordPress, Google, Skype, Pinterest, and more. Then, I checked out the Conversation Prism made by Brian Solis and Jess3.

Wow, I know about only a small fraction of social media, but I am determined to learn more. It was so hard to pick which one to start with. I chose Socialmention.com in light of my recent blog post about listening. Because listening is such a vital part of Public Relations, Socialmention.com is a great tool to listen to what is being said about your company on social media sites.

Socialmention.com is similar to Google Alerts, but specifically looks through more than 100 social media sites. Basically, you type in your company, brand, name, or whatever you want to monitor, pick the types of sites or specific social media sources you want to search (unless you want to search everything), and a few seconds later, the latest social media mentions are brought up in chronological order.

One of the coolest feature is a side bar that gives you of a statistical break down of the mentions your search is receiving such as positive/negative feedback ratio, top keywords used, and the top sources used to mention.

You can also track mentions automatically and analyze them them with Socialmention.com

I will definitely be using this tool in the future.

About emilyclaire3

Hello, my name is Emily Claire and I like a lot of things including but not limited to God, photography, organization, crafts, laughing, youth ministry, and baseball..

What do YOU think?

