Passion=Career

There’s this question I get asked frequently by family, friends, co-workers, strangers, etc. I used to not like it because I didn’t know how to answer it. I’m sure you might have gotten it before. It’s the, “What are you going to do with your degree?” question. I have mentioned in a previous post that I became a Communication major for some pretty lame reasons (I liked working with people and everyone needs communication skills). Two years can teach a person a lot about who they are and what they are passionate about. I love answering this question now because I get to talk about something I am passionate about: Youth Ministry (Catholic Youth Ministry, more specifically).

Youth Ministry in the Catholic faith is important. The National Federation for Catholic Youth Ministry’s website says, ” The church must become the traveling companion of young people—and that is what we mean by youth ministry. If, indeed, ‘it takes an entire village to raise a child,’ then it certainly takes an entire church to journey with young people as they grapple with the Good News and respond in discipleship.”

I am who I am today because of Catholic Youth Ministry. I have seen its benefits first hand not only in me but for other young people looking for a purpose and looking for love.

Now, how can I use my degree in Communication to pursue a career in Youth Ministry? Well, Youth Ministry is not just about the relational aspect of ministering. There is a ton of behind the scenes work that goes into good Catholic Youth Ministry. This is where I want to be involved. I love the relational ministry part, but I am more interested in supporting others who have a real gift for it. My dream job is to work for a Youth Ministry program such as Life Teen. I honestly don’t know specifically what I want to do, but I do want to be a part of the mission to lead teens closer to Christ in whatever capacity I can.

Being a Communication major with a focus in PR and minor in Religious and Theological Studies seems to be a good fit for this future career. No matter what, I believe I have passions for a reason, and I am going to pursue them.

About emilyclaire3

Hello, my name is Emily Claire and I like a lot of things including but not limited to God, photography, organization, crafts, laughing, youth ministry, and baseball..

One response to “Passion=Career

  1. I think you have clearly identified a good path toward pursuing what you want to do. I remember in Communication Theories, Prof. Garza started the first day of class with an open discussion about the possible jobs one can get with a Communication major. She had everyone make lists of the types of jobs we could think of, then she showed a large list she had compiled. Essentially, it was a giant list that covered anything and everything. I thought this was an extremely effective way to begin class, especially if people are still confused and pass everything off as irrelevant information. Communication is a very valuable major, especially for behind the scenes stuff like you mention in this post. It’s never a bad thing to know how to speak and listen to people effectively. In regards to youth ministry, I can definitely see how the concepts and tools we learn about in different Comm. will offer you great guidance– especially on top of a Religious and Theological Studies minor.I’m in the same place right now. I finally am understanding how the things I learn in class can be utilized as relevant information for guidance and support in the future. (Relieving, right?)

What do YOU think?

